> 140

Disabling Touchpad-Clicks in Openbox

In English, Linux on November 10, 2011 at 3:18 pm

I’m currently running Lubuntu on an quite old (2nd Intel Generation) MacBook and primarily use plain OpenBox. Since it was actually my plan to install ArchLinux and I’m looking to forward to actually do this in the future, I thought it might be smart to write some of the config stuff I figured out on the way down. Best place for this: the blog.

So here I am and here I go with the first chapter:

I really can’t stand the concept of touchpads serving as clickable area. There are reasons . . . but this is not the place and not the time.

 

There are lot’s of articles telling you how to turn it off. Most of them involve editing some basic central x11 config file. Didn’t feel to good (and didn’t work for me either) and besides that: maybe I want a second account for my girlfriend. I’d like to grant her the ability to touchpad click.

In the end I found http://uselessuseofcat.com/?p=74 that used synclient to edit the preferences at runtime. That felt nice and worked too. So I just added this line to my ~/.config/openbox/autostart.sh  :

(sleep 2 && synclient TapButton1=0 && synclient TapButton1=0 && synclient TapButton1=0 && synclient PalmDetect=1) &

this is actually very simple: at first we wait 2 seconds (so evereything can start up), then disable 1-, 2- and 3-FingerTaps on the touchpad and in the end start palm detection (that will try to guess what parts of the input are accidental palm movements).

Works like a charm.

Leave a Reply

